Skip to main content

The IKEA CONCEPT

Doing it a different way

A man on a cargo bike loaded with IKEA packages.
We constantly ask: Is there a better way? That’s how the IKEA home furnishings offer remains unique and how we try to make everyday life better for the many people.
A young girl sitting in a swing, in the living room, with a gym mat underneath.
Vision and business idea
“To create a better everyday life for the many people”, this is the IKEA vision. Our business idea is “to offer a wide range of well-designed, functional home furnishing products at prices so low that as many people as possible will be able to afford them”.
We work hard to achieve quality at affordable prices for our customers through optimising our entire value chain, by building long-term supplier relationships, investing in highly automated production and producing large volumes. Our vision also goes beyond home furnishing. We want to create a better everyday for all people impacted by our business.
Our heritage
Today, IKEA reaches millions of hearts and homes all over the world, but every success story has to start somewhere. Did you know that IKEA once was as a tiny business in Älmhult, a small Swedish village in the countryside, selling through a mail-order catalogue? And that the IKEA headquarters for design are still located there? Here’s our story.
IKEA was founded in Älmhult, Sweden, but is now a global company. The IKEA logo is yellow and blue, like the Swedish flag.
Our roots
Ingvar Kamprad founded IKEA in 1943 at the age of 17, selling household goods like pens, wallets and picture frames. Småland, the landscape where Ingvar grew up, was stony and rugged. Back then, many of the inhabitants had to get by with small means, making as much as possible with next to nothing. Because of this, Smålanders are said to be thrifty and innovative, with a “no-nonsense” approach to everyday problem solving. This heritage is one explanation to the IKEA way of doing things and to our success.
The development of the IKEA logo over the years:
This is how the IKEA logo has developed over the years, from 1951 until today.
Did you know?
IKEA is named after the initials of founder Ingvar Kamprad, Elmtaryd, the farm on which he grew up, and Agunnaryd, the nearby village.
The very first IKEA catalogue was published in 1951.
The IKEA catalogue
Because Älmhult, the town where IKEA was founded, is in a rather remote area of Sweden, it was difficult to reach potential customers in the bigger cities. Due to this, the IKEA catalogue was born in 1951, and Ingvar had already decided IKEA should sell good furniture at low prices:
“Why are beautiful products only made for a few buyers? It must be possible to offer good design and function at low prices.”
– Ingvar Kamprad
IKEA was founded by Ingvar Kamprad in 1943. His business idea was to offer beautiful, functional design products at low prices.
The very first IKEA showroom in Älmhult.
The prices in the first IKEA catalogue were so low that people were initially sceptical about the quality of the products, so Ingvar decided to convert an old workshop in Älmhult into a showroom where people could look at and try products before ordering.
The first IKEA showroom
LÖVBACKEN is a replica of a table sold at IKEA in 1956 called LÖVET. LÖVET was our very first product sold as a flat-pack.
How the flat-pack idea was born
Mail order distribution of bulky furniture was difficult and expensive, and products often got damaged. In 1956 we got the idea to take the legs off the LÖVET table, which led to the idea of self-assembly and flat packing.
Today LÖVET is back at IKEA, now named LÖVBACKEN. A little table that contributed to a great idea.
See LÖVBACKEN table
We love challenges!
Throughout our history, our best ideas have come from our biggest challenges, and we believe this is what makes us different. Today, IKEA is one of the most well-known home furnishing brands in the world and, if we include the many thousands employed by our suppliers, around one million people is working with us to make our vision to create a better everyday life for the many people become reality. And this is just the beginning. Like Ingvar Kamprad used to say, “Most things still remain to be done. A glorious future!”
IKEA is a brand with operations all over the globe, and a large part of IKEA products are made from wood.
One brand – many companies
Our brand represents the sum of everything that we say and do. It links all IKEA retailers and other IKEA businesses together.
Reaching the many people with our products can be a challenge, that’s why we work with a business format called franchising. Our franchise system allows for international expansion, while protecting the IKEA Concept. Inter IKEA Systems B.V. is the IKEA franchisor who continuously develops the IKEA Concept and ensures its implementation in all markets. The franchisees run the day-to-day retail business and pay a franchise fee to do so.
IKEA is a brand with operations all over the globe, and a large part of IKEA products are made from wood.
Our franchising system
Inter IKEA Systems B.V. is the owner of the IKEA Concept and worldwide IKEA franchisor, and they have assigned other IKEA companies to develop range, supply and communication. Together with IKEA franchisees, we improve and develop IKEA to be more relevant and inspiring.
The list refers, in a simplified way, to companies/groups of companies operating IKEA retail businesses in one or more markets. The listed names do not represent the legal company name of the franchisee companies that have entered into franchise agreements with Inter IKEA Systems B.V.
IKEA franchisees
*INGKA refers to INGKA Holding B.V. and its controlled entities.
IKEA Group becomes Ingka Group
We are moving from operating as IKEA Group to operating as Ingka Group. We do this because we run a number of businesses adjacent to IKEA Retail that aren’t technically part of the IKEA Concept, and want to clarify who we are as a company in relation to the IKEA franchise system.
Ingka Group has three business areas: IKEA Retail, Ingka Investments and Ingka Centres. IKEA Retail is our core business area and we operate it as a franchisee of the IKEA franchise system. It is the world’s largest home furnishing retailer operating 367 IKEA stores in 30 markets* These IKEA stores had 838 million visits during FY18, while IKEA.com had 2.35 billion visits.
* As of August 31, 2018
Read more on Ingka.com
YOU MIGHT ALSO BE INTERESTED IN:
A photo portrait of a young Indian girl in a classroom
PEOPLE & PLANET
For a sustainable future
Discover what sustainability means to us and what we are doing to take care of people and the planet. Explore People & Planet

跳至主站

宜家经营理念

采用不同方式

一位男士骑着一辆货运自行车,车上放着宜家包装产品。
我们会不断地自问:是否还有更好的方式?这就是宜家家居用品保持独特魅力的缘由所在,也是我们尝试为大众打造更美好日常生活的初衷所在。
宜家创立于瑞典阿姆霍特,现已发展成为一家全球性企业。宜家标志采用了与瑞典国旗一样的黄色和蓝色。
理念
宜家理念最初始于为大众提供经济实惠的家居用品,而非仅为少数人服务。该理念将功能、质量、设计与价值结合在一起,并始终牢记可持续发展理念。从设计、采购、包装、配送到业务模式,宜家理念存在于公司日常运营的每个环节。我们的目标是帮助更多人创造更好的家居生活。
将宜家理念带入生活中
宜家理念以多种方式体现在生活中:通过我们在全球各地开设的商场、宜家《家居指南》、网站和应用程序,更重要的是全球数百万的家庭。
我们的传统
如今,宜家已经走遍全球,进入千家万户,赢得了无数人的青睐。不过,每个成功的故事都有一个开端。你知道吗?宜家曾经只是瑞典阿姆霍特(一座乡间小村庄)的一家小公司,通过邮购目录出售产品。如今,宜家设计总部依然设在此地。下面来说说我们的故事。
宜家创立于瑞典阿姆霍特,现已发展成为一家全球性企业。宜家标志采用了与瑞典国旗一样的黄色和蓝色。
我们的根源
1943年,17岁的Ingvar Kamprad创立了宜家,出售钢笔、钱包和相框等日用品。Ingvar在斯莫兰长大,那里怪石嶙峋,地貌崎岖。那时,许多居民经济拮据,艰难度日,凭借微乎其微的收入勉力生存。因此,据说斯莫兰人大都勤劳节俭、富有创意,喜欢用“务实”的办法来解决日常问题。了解了这一传统,就不难理解宜家做事的方式和成功的原因了。
宜家标志多年来的发展:
这是1951年至今,宜家标志的发展历程。
你知道吗?
IKEA(宜家)这个名称由创始人Ingvar Kamprad、他成长的农场Elmtaryd与附近村庄Agunnaryd的首字母组成。
第一期宜家《家居指南》于1951年诞生。
宜家《家居指南》
宜家的创始地阿姆霍特位于瑞典一个较为偏远的地区,很难接触到大城市里的潜在顾客。因此,宜家《家居指南》于1951年诞生了。Ingvar当时便已下定决心,认为宜家应以实惠的价格出售优质家具:
“美观的产品为什么只有少数人能享受?一定可以设法以实惠的价格为大众提供设计精巧、功能实用的产品。”
——Ingvar Kamprad
1943年,Ingvar Kamprad创立了宜家。他的经营理念是以实惠的价格出售美观实用的设计产品。
第一间宜家展厅开设于阿姆霍特。
第一期宜家《家居指南》中产品的价格非常实惠,以至于人们一开始都对产品的质量持怀疑态度。于是,Ingvar决定将阿姆霍特的一间老工作坊改造成展厅,好让人们先亲眼查看、亲身体验产品再进行订购。
第一间宜家展厅
LÖVBACKEN 罗贝肯 复刻了1956年宜家出售的 LÖVET 拉维德 桌子。LÖVET 拉维德 是我们第一款平板包装出售的产品。
平板包装的创意是如何诞生的
通过邮购目录销售笨重的家具不是件容易的事,不仅成本高昂,产品还常常遭到损坏。1956年,我们有了一个想法:卸下 LÖVET 拉维德 桌子的桌腿。在此基础上,我们又产生了自行组装和平板包装的想法。
如今 LÖVET 拉维德 桌子又回归了宜家,它现在的名字是 LÖVBACKEN 罗贝肯。一张小小的桌子催生了一个伟大的创意。
查看 LÖVBACKEN 罗贝肯 桌子
我们喜欢挑战!
在宜家的发展历程中,出色的创意都来自于我们面临的严峻挑战;我们相信,这正是让我们与众不同的地方。如今,宜家已成为一家全球知名的家居用品品牌。如果算上我们各供应商的成千上万名员工,就有大约一百万人正与我们一起努力,以实现我们的愿景,为大众创造更美好的日常生活。而且,这仅仅是一个开始。就像Ingvar Kamprad过去常常说的:“我们仍然任重道远。未来一片光明!”
宜家是一个业务遍及全球的知名品牌,有很大一部分宜家产品是用木材打造的。
同一品牌,多家公司
宜家品牌代表着我们的一言一行,也将宜家所有零售商和其他宜家企业紧密联系在一起。
把我们的产品传递给大众是一项挑战,因此我们采取了一种名为“特许经营”的商业模式。特许经营制度让我们得以在保护宜家理念的同时实现国际化扩张。Inter IKEA Systems B.V.是宜家的特许经营授权商。它不断发展宜家理念,确保其在所有市场贯彻落实。特许经销商则负责运营日常零售业务,并为此支付特许费。
宜家是一个业务遍及全球的知名品牌,有很大一部分宜家产品是用木材打造的。
我们的特许经营制度
Inter IKEA Systems B.V.是宜家理念的所有者和宜家在全球的特许经营授权商,同时也委任其他宜家企业负责产品系列开发、产品供应管理和企业沟通事宜。我们与所有宜家特许经销商携手,共同努力改进并发展宜家,让宜家与人们的生活更紧密地联系在一起,同时赋予人们更多灵感。
这份清单简单列举了在一个或多个市场经营宜家零售业务的公司或集团。上面列出的公司或集团名并不代表这些特许经销商与Inter IKEA Systems B.V.签署特许经营协议时使用的公司法定名称。
宜家特许经销商
*INGKA指英格卡控股公司及其控制的实体。
你可能对以下内容也感兴趣:
爸爸与儿子一起烹饪
关于宜家集团
欢迎来到我们公司
我们是价值驱动型公司,对家居生活充满热情。我们打造的每款产品,都体现了我们创造更加美好的家居生活的理念。查看有关我们的愿景和公司结构的更多信息
一名年轻的印度女孩在教室的肖像照
人类与地球
为了可持续的未来
了解可持续发展对于宜家的意义,以及宜家是如何关爱人和地球的。探索人类与地球